Monday, June 17, 2024
HomeSportsIndia's 3 best T20 knocks vs Ireland ft. Rohit Sharma

India’s 3 best T20 knocks vs Ireland ft. Rohit Sharma

India will take on Ireland in the eighth match of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup on Wednesday, June 5, at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. The Rohit Sharma-led team will look to start their campaign on a winning note as India aim to win their first ICC trophy since 2013.

If we look at the record head to head, Ireland are yet to beat India. The Men in Blue have emerged victorious in all seven matches that have been played between the two teams so far and will look to maintain their unbeaten record when they take on the Irish team in their first match of the 2024 tournament.

As the records show, India have played some incredible cricket against Ireland, and fans have witnessed some brilliant knocks from Indian batsmen over the years. As the Men in Blue prepare to begin their campaign, in this article we will look at the top three knocks by the Indian batsmen against Ireland.

#3 KL Rahul (70 off 36 balls)

India faced Ireland in a two-match T20I series in 2018. In the second match played at The Village Stadium, the hosts won the toss and decided to play first. India, who batted first, lost captain Virat Kohli in the third over. However, KL Rahul and Suresh Raina put together a 106-run partnership.

KL Rahul scored 70 runs off 36 balls at a strike rate of 194.4 and hit three fours and six sixes in his innings. Meanwhile, Raina scored 69 runs in 45 balls, and a cameo by Hardik Pandya at the end guided India to a score of 213 in 20 overs.

In response, Ireland never featured in the game as they lost wickets at regular intervals. India won the match by 143 runs after Ireland were bowled out for 70 runs thanks to three wickets each from the duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal.

#2 Rohit Sharma (97 off 61 balls)

After being asked to bat first in the first match of the 2018 series, Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan went on a rampage to build a 160-run opening partnership.

Dhawan scored 74 runs off 45 balls; Meanwhile, Rohit missed out on a well-deserved century when Peter Chase bowled him in the last over after scoring 97 off 61 balls. The Indian opener scored eight fours and five sixes and the team put up a decent total (208) on the scoreboard.

For Ireland, no batsman except James Shannon (60) managed to stay at the crease for long as they scored 132 in their 20 overs, resulting in a 76-run defeat. Meanwhile, Kuldeep Yadav took four wickets for India.

#1 Deepak Hooda (104 off 57 balls)

India won the toss and elected to bat first in the second game of the 2022 series. Ishan Kishan arrived early but it was all about Sanju Samson and Deepak Hooda.

While the former scored 77 off 42 balls, Hooda smashed his maiden century in the format, scoring 104 runs off 57 balls. The right-handed batsman hit nine fours and six maximums as the Indian team piled up 225 for the loss of seven wickets.

In reply, Paul Stirling (40) and Andrew Balbirinie (60) started brightly for Ireland as they scored 72 runs in the powerplay. Ireland fought hard until the end, when the equation was reduced to 17 from six balls. However, pacer Umran Malik kept his cool and India won by four runs.